Assignment 2 Presentation/ Exhibition

04th December 2019

Stick your photographs on a (preferably) white wall. Think carefully about the arrangement and sequence of the photographs – which comes first, second, third etc? … Try various arrangements until you’re satisfied they work as a set.

OCA Foundations in photography Course Folder pg92

Having just purchased a new printer for the course, I was disappointed that my first print was slightly out and did not match the colours on my iMac screen. Although I had already calibrated my computer screen, I now have to work out how to marry up the printer to the computer, but I am not sure how to do this correctly. I then decided to have the photographs printed out professionally but decided that would be a waste of money so I went another route which was to put my images onto a wall in Photoshop.

To complete this I found a white wall photograph that was free to use on the internet. The only stipulation that went with the download is that I acknowledged my source. This is the link that I was asked to copy and share Background photo created by freepik – www.freepik.com

I also managed to find a Youtube video by PHLEARN that explained how to create an exhibition wall in Photoshop, my notes are below.

I decided to go for a brick wall with texture rather than a pure white wall because I did not add any frames to the images. This way I am hoping the two differing textures, the wall and the images, will compliment each other. After spending a couple of hours working out how to put images onto a downloaded wall, as well as manipulating them, I was happy with my arrangement, I came up with the following presentation.

Final presentation

There are a few reasons that I have chosen to present my chosen images in this way. The diagram explains the composition values of the hanging.

Composition values of presentation

I made a conscious decision not to overload my presentation with more images. The two spaces at either end of the hanging were intentionally left as negative spaces to balance out my composition therefore enabling the viewers eyes to travel along two specific routes within the composition to a purposely placed end image.

I had tried to place the larger pictures in each others positions so that the viewers eyes, at the end of the route, were taken out of the presentation area by the arms and crystal ball. However this meant that the large crystal ball image could not lead the eyes into the presentation as it is what I call ‘an ending image.’

The central composition that consists of three smaller images are placed intentionally to coax the viewers eyes upwards, zig-zagging from one image to another. I placed the largest image at the bottom to act as the anchor so that the smallest image acted as a point to the towering effect. The positioning of the figure in each image helps to lead the eyes upwards as well.

I am very happy with this part of the Assignment as I have learnt another Photoshop skill which I can use in further exercises. I am going to present the cross-app images from this assignment next and put it at the bottom of this post.

Cross-app presentation

With the cross-app presentation, I took on a different view and ordered the images from right to left in gradual steps upwards until the final ending image which steps down two. This composition leads the eye because of the positioning and sizing of the images and because of the head within the images which are all looking in one specific direction, the same direction as our eyes are travelling.

I purposefully chose these images to give a ghostly and old time theme. The first three images, read from right to left have lack of detail within them, however the final ending image, although the smallest has the detailed portrait and background objects within the picture plane.

My aim was that our eyes rest on the subject, we are introduced to her right at the end of our viewing travel, then our curiosity takes us back and forth amongst the images as we begin to compare them.

I thoroughly enjoy this part of an end project. I often present my works differently, even at times gluing my photographs onto objects so that they become three dimensional. Now that I have learnt how to present them in Photoshop it will mean planning for exhibition will be easier as not only can I make sure the composition of presentation is eye catching but I can work out the sizing of the images before I order them for printing.


Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑