Exercise 3.3 Sequence – Time At A Gig

16th December 2019

Make a sequence of photographs.

Experiment by placing images together either in Photoshop or as prints. Notice how one image resonates with another image and how the two combine to produce a new meaning.

If your sequence would work better as a slideshow, use PowerPoint or download Open Office to create one.

OCA Foundations in Photography Course Folder pg103

For this second sequence I thought about the gigs that I go to. For gigs I use a Panasonic Lumix compact camera. They are not very good in this type of situation with my mobile phone camera probably out performing it. I find that it lags so that the time I press the shutter and the time it actually takes a shot there is a second delay which more often than not causes blur and distortion. I would love to be able to take my professional camera in so that the shots are worth taking. However, I still like taking shots at gigs and hope that I can save up for a quality compact camera that really does allow manual settings throughout the menu and not just in a few aspects such as ISO.

This sequence is based on a recent gig where I saw The Darkness at The Nick Ryans Centre UEA.

The contact sheets are below and I have noticed that yet again I have forgotten to name them and they have been automatically labelled with my previous exercise name.

Once I had created the contact sheets, I looked at them to begin to form an idea of a sequence within my mind.

Sequence one is the beginning, middle and ending linear sequence called – ‘Time At A Gig.’ The beginning shot shows feet – we are waiting for the start of the gig, the second shot is from the middle of the show and is the singer, Justin Hawkins, and the third and final shot is the crowd listening to the end song.

I think the trouble with this linear sequence is that unless you have knowledge of the first and third image, you probably wouldn’t know that it was a time based sequence because these images could have been taken at any point during the show. In fact would these, as they are presented now, fall under the category of a series rather than a sequence? Perhaps the third image could have shown the stage being packed up or people leaving the UEA, or maybe more images in this instance were needed to show the passage of time?

I think I will have one more go at the sequence, ‘Time At A Gig’ and see if I can show the movement of time from travelling to the gig, waiting, the gig, and ending. Perhaps the sequence could benefit from more than one shot per time aspect, I shall experiment further with my composition.

I have used some of the photographs from ‘Exercise 3.1 Searching’ for this exercise. The chosen images I thought would be better viewed again as a slide show, this allows people to see only one image at a time that sets a specific time block and therefore one thought.

The above slideshow, ‘Time At A Gig,’ shows a sequence from The Wonderstuff gig as follows.

  • Waiting and set up
  • Band
  • Break
  • Band
  • Leaving

I found it particularly difficult to find the correct ration of images to use per section and I am thinking that perhaps the band sections should have had more images as the time they were on – two and half albums worth of music – compared to the relatively smaller waiting times should have been felt in the amount of images shown.

However, I do think having this sequence in a slideshow works well and the larger amount of images gives the viewer a sense of time scale and different activities that go on within the gig.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑